Ball Retains WBC Belt In Style

Danny Ball showed he can box as well as he can punch in this impressive win Image (c) Queensberry

Danny Ball retained his WBC International Silver title on Friday night after a contest with Sam Gilley that sizzled from the off writes Oliver McManus.

Gilley, the current Southern Area champion, had spells of class throughout the fight but Ball was able to keep his nose ahead and take the fight on the cards.

Speaking to Queensberry Promotions’ Dev Sahni after the fight, Ball said he was simply pleased to be back and putting on a show.

“It was great (to be back): after an 18 month lay off I knew it was going to take me a couple rounds to start off but I felt like I started off sharper than I normally do. From the fourth round onwards I was beating him to the jab and I was comfortable. I knew I won the fight.”

The fight, according to the scorecards – 96-94, 97-94 and 96-94 – was close but to BCB-managed Ball the win was never in doubt.

The Richie Ghent trained fighter explained that he had more in the tank if necessary but was keen to show why the fight shouldn’t have been slept on in the build-up.

“I feel like I was doing enough (to win). I was putting together the clever work and making him miss but I don’t want to take anything away from Sam – he’s a good lad. Nobody spoke about this fight enough before the show, we went under the radar, but we started the night with a cracker.”

Going forward there’s a throng of domestic welterweight fighters to get involved with: not least promotional stablemate, and British and Commonwealth champion, Chris Jenkins.

Ball was in no mood to call out names, though, and insisted he’ll fight whoever gets put in front of him… and put on a show in the process.

“I want to be busy now (as) I’ve got my foot in the door. I’ve had 18 months off and just had a good ten rounder so I want to push on and stay active.

“I’m not someone to call anybody out; I don’t think I’ve earned that platform yet but if I get offered (big fights) then I’ll say yes straightaway.”

Leave a comment